Home Page
  • Bolden Terrace, Westhouses, Alfreton, Derbyshire, DE55 5AF. Tel: 01773 832 518

The 5 Pits Partnership of Schools

Launching the 5 Pits Partnership of Schools (5PPS) 

Over the past few years the local primary schools have worked closely together alongside Tibshelf Community School to improve the educational opportunities for your children.  This collaboration has supported staff development, curriculum improvement, sporting activities and joint school ventures such as Futures Week.  The impact on the education of your children has been considerable and forged a strong bond between the schools and their staff.

With the current government policy of reducing Local Authority influence and funding, the need for schools to work together has become vital.  Over the last few months our head teachers and governors have agreed a way forward to strengthen the group of schools.  This is to ensure we build on our successes with a key focus on school and staff development in partnership together.  The agreement, or Memorandum of Understanding, sets out how we will work as a partnership of schools. You may like to view this on the school website. At any point a school can choose to leave the partnership and we all remain under Local Authority oversight.

We are proud of our new name – the 5 Pits Partnership of Schools which you may see on future correspondence as it relates so well to the heritage of our communities. In every other way we retain the individual name and ethos of our schools and the ways we work with our own parents.


Schools in the 5PPS

Blackwell Primary School    Newton Primary School Tibshelf Infant & Nursery School
Heath Primary School Pilsley Primary School Tibshelf Community School
Mickley Infant School Shirland Primary School Town End Junior School
Morton Primary School Stonebroom Primary School    Westhouses  Primary School



To see the 5PPs page that is maintained by Tibshelf Community School, please click here.



The Children from 5PP got to meet Dennis Skinner today at Tibshelf Community School.